The 5 Most Common Traffic Tickets in NevadaPosted on Apr 11, 2020 by admin| Blog
Do you want to be a better driver? Looking to avoid seeing those flashing red and blue lights in your rear-view mirror?
Well, the National Safety Council has recently released the most common traffic violations in the US, broken down by state. If you want to avoid getting a traffic ticket in Nevada, here are the most commonly cited traffic offenses.
According to the National Safety Council, 100,000 drivers receive speeding tickets in America every day. Speeding is also the cause of one out of every three traffic accidents and is responsible for around 30% of all fatal road collisions.
Unfortunately, Nevada is also in the top five of states where you are likely to get a ticket for speeding, so keep that heavy foot off the accelerator!
Seatbelts and Child Car Seats
Nevada seat belt laws state that everyone older than six years or who weighs 60 pounds or more must wear a safety belt or shoulder harness at all times in a moving vehicle. This includes those sitting in the back seat.
Additionally, Nevada law 484B. 157 requires all passengers under the age of six and weighing less than 60 pounds to use a car seat.
A child must have a child seat that’s approved by the U.S. Department of Transportation for the child’s height and weight and that meets the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards.
There are very few defenses for breaking either of these laws. The only permissible defenses are:
- The defendant was wearing a seat belt; the police are mistaken
- There was no seat belt available in the vehicle, and the vehicle was so old that the vehicle is exempt from having them
- A driver or passenger has a medical excuse and a doctor’s note
- Police pull the driver over only to investigate the seat belt violation; the police make an impermissible stop
Getting a ticket for not wearing a seat belt is what is called a secondary offense, which means you can’t be pulled over for it and it is a non-moving violation, which means you won’t get points on you license, but you will get a $25 fine and it will go on your criminal record as a misdemeanor offense.
Not using a car seat, on the other hand, can result in far more severe penalties, such as the loss of your license and even jail time.
Using a Cell Phone
Nevada drivers caught texting while operating a vehicle or otherwise handling a cell phone or any similar wireless device face a $50 fine for a first offense.
The fines for handling a wireless device behind the wheel in Nevada increase with each successive conviction. And a second-time offense comes with four Nevada demerit points on the person’s driver’s license.
It is, however, completely legal to use you mobile phone with a hands-free kit, so best to stick to that.
Running A Red Light
The Las Vegas Review-Journal lists Las Vegas as number four on the list of cities in which running red lights is common.
Part of this is because current Nevada law prohibits the use of imaging equipment, such as red light enforcement cameras, for “gathering evidence for a traffic citation, unless handheld by an officer, or mounted in a vehicle or facility of a law enforcement agency.”
However, the Nevada Legislature is currently in the process of considering Senate Bill 43, which would allow local governments to install red-light cameras under certain circumstances.
Driving Under the Influence
Statistics from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) show that, across the US, one person is killed every 51 minutes in an alcohol-related driving accident.
Nevada’s DUI laws prohibit all motorists from operating a motor vehicle: with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or more within two hours of driving or while under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
A person is considered “under the influence” if is impaired to the degree that the person cannot safely drive.
The BAC limit is lower for commercial drivers and drivers who are under the age of 21. Commercial drivers can get a DUI for a BAC of 0.04% or more and underage drivers can be cited for operating a vehicle with a BAC of 0.02% or more.
The penalties for driving under the influence in Nevada are justifiably harsh. A first office can result in a mandatory 2 days in jail, a minimum $400 fine, and your license being revoked for at least 185 days.
A third offense will result in 1 to 6 years in prison, a minimum $2000 fine, and your license being revoked for at least 3 years.
The Northwest Driving School and Traffic School provides the Las Vegas community with live driving and traffic classes taught by seasoned instructors. All of our driving instructors have passed background checks, each automobile is DMV safety-approved and every member of the Northwest family is committed to providing excellent drivers ed and behind the wheel instruction.
At Northwest, you can expect to find outstanding classes, both on campus and behind the wheel, that are engaging, fact-filled, entertaining and geared toward success. We make no bones about it, we believe that Northwest provides the best driving lessons in Las Vegas, no matter your age or background. We are proud of the fact that 98% of our students pass their test on the first try. Call us at (702) 403-1592 to start your driving adventure with one of our expert instructors.
Master Instructor / General Manager
- Ten Tips for Better Private Driving Practice
- How to Reverse a Car in a Straight Line
- Top Tips For Driving In The Hot Sun
- How To Spot a Bad Driving Instructor
- Top Tips for Reducing Your Mileage Costs
- US Drunk Driver Statistics
- The 5 Most Common Traffic Tickets in Nevada
- Defensive Driving Courses: What’s Included?