Car InsurancePosted on Apr 18, 2017 by admin| Blog
Insurance premiums are determined by the following factors:
- Where you live
- Your age
- Your driving record
- What kind of vehicles you drive
In Nevada, all licensed drivers are required to carry liability insurance. Liability insurance protects you in the event you’re involved in a car crash that is your fault. Liability coverage alone is only possible if you own your vehicle and are no longer making payments on it. Our state minimum for liability coverage is:
- $15,000 for bodily injury or death of one person
- $30,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more persons
- $10,000 for property damage
If you are still making payments on your vehicle, you are required to carry full coverage which includes:
If you’ve changed insurance companies or coverage during the verification time frame, log on to www.dmvnv.com and enter your current or previous insurance information. You will need to follow up online with the DMV to ensure your Nevada insurance has been confirmed.
If your insurance lapses, your vehicle registration will be suspended. Reinstatement fees and fines for a lapse in insurance coverage depend on the length of the lapse. A schedule is listed below.
If the lapse period is 91 days or longer, or if it’s your third offense, you will be required to carry SR-22 insurance prior to paying fines and fees and SR-22 must be maintained for three years. Third-offense reinstatements will result in a minimum 30-day suspension of a driver’s license.
SR-22 insurance is a form of liability insurance that allows the DMV to monitor the insurance of a suspended or revoked driver’s record, through paperwork received by the driver’s insurance company.
REINSTATEMENT requirements per NRS 482.557 and/or 485.317 you can pay the fee and/or fine to reinstate your registration at a full service DMV office. If a Certificate of Financial Responsibility (SR22) is required, you will need to go to your local DMV office. You can also pay and reinstate by mail (Nevada DMV; Central Services and Records Division; Nevada LIVE; 555 Wright Way; Carson City, NV 89711) or by fax (775.684.4543). You will need to include a notarized Declaration of Responsibility (NVL019) and your current Nevada Evidence of Insurance card
For more information, refer to the NVL010 Vehicle Registration Insurance Reinstatement Guide.
- Dealing With Hazards for New Drivers
- Is it Harder to Learn to Drive Later in Life?
- The Dutch Reach: What Is it and Why Should You Be Using It?
- 5D Virtual Reality Driving Tests
- Drink Driving Spikes Around Christmas
- Awesome Gifts for Learner Drivers
- Egyptian Entrepreneur Opens All-Female Driving School
- When to Use Your Fog Lights